How long does it take to write a short Christmas drama for Children? I answer myself……longer than I thought.

Sweet little darlings, preteens and teens in many churches are gathering to practice their once a year Christmas program. Gleaming parents and grandparents sit in the pews just waiting for ‘their special one’ to say his or her line or sing their song. What goes on behind the scenes cannot be described.

A few weeks ago, I threw out a couple of ideas to the children of the church where I teach, that I thought would be the start of a good Christmas program. They went along to a point, but I soon found that children have ideas of their own, as their little mouths started putting out the ideas. For a moment, I felt that I was in a very important brainstorming meeting of a corporate advertising company or among writers of a syndicated television studio. It was amazing how one came up with the major theme and it started growing with each child adding into the mix. Well, I must tell you that the consensus between them all, was that there had to be a Scrooge character involved. “Wow, okay,” I agreed.

Too bad, these youngsters are just a little too young to put a script down on paper. They sure have challenged my mind. Now after three weeks of scratching out ideas, I now have a script ready for their first practice. So, we have a Biblical Scrooge. And, you know what, I am sure there were plenty of Scrooges back in the Bible Times, just as there are today. This imaginary Bible Scrooge just so happens to be the tax collector sent to collect taxes from the House of David in Bethlehem.

An exciting two weeks lie ahead, as the challenges of the Church Christmas Program takes shape.

 christmas play 2006 and Andee 020

1 Peter 5:2-4

New International Version (NIV)

Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, watching over them—not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not pursuing dishonest gain, but eager to serve; not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock. And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the crown of glory that will never fade away.

